A Novella Idea.

So I’ve decided to write some fiction.

It’s been a few months since I started this blog, and I’ve enjoyed writing about things that I’m passionate about. In recent weeks, the pace of posting has slowed – and that’s not for lack of writing, it’s just from different writing. I’ve found myself up late and early writing what was originally intended to be a short story, but then morphed into a series of short stories, and is now going to be a series of three short novellas.

Something I’ve learnt over the past few years is not to let perfection become the enemy of getting out there and doing something. (This enabled me run a marathon in a fairly slow time, rather than never running one because I aimed to go super fast). When I was younger (especially as a teenager) I would stress over not getting things up to my exacting standards, especially in my music. I’ve played guitar since I was 14, and wrote a number of songs over the years. But I’d never play anyone these songs because I worried that they were terrible!

In light of this, I’m not claiming to be the word’s greatest writer, but I’m giving it a go. And I’m inviting you, good reader, to join me on this journey. I’ve already got a target audience, central characters, themes, twists, etc planned out – and now the actual writing part is in full swing.

I’ll be posting an extract every week for the next six weeks, so keep checking in every Sunday for the next installment. I’ll also still be writing my usual motivational/faith/social justice articles too, just in a slightly less frequent manner.

**Ninja edit: My Short Story is now live on Amazon, and has been getting a bit of attention! If you want to check it out, here’s the link:

What Went Wrong with Mrs Milliard’s Mech?

P.S: If you’re wondering what the feature picture has to do with anything, that’s me jumping at the world’s largest book in Mandalay, Myanmar.

One thought on “A Novella Idea.

  1. Pingback: My Fiction Writing Gathers Steam | The Radical Middle

Leave a Reply

